Candidates Undergoing Certification at Rosebud

RST Election Ballot 2014-1

ROSEBUD, SD – Sixty nine candidates have filed nominating petitions seeking a place on the ballot for the Rosebud Sioux Tribe’s Primary Election scheduled for Thursday, July 23, 2015.

In order to be eligible to vote, you must be at least 18 years old and have established residency on the Rosebud Reservation for at least thirty (30) days prior to the election. You must be an enrolled member of the Rosebud Sioux Tribe and must register to vote by Friday, July 10, 2015. You may register to vote by visiting the Tribal Secretary’s office. Voting by absentee ballot or by proxy is not allowed.

Registered voters will select a President, Vice-President, Secretary and Treasurer. In addition, there are ten (10) Tribal Council Representative positions up for election. Voters will choose Tribal Representatives for Antelope, St. Francis, Rosebud, Corn Creek, Ring Thunder, Horse Creek, Swift Bear, Bull Creek, He Dog and Upper Cut Meat Communities. The following candidates met the filing deadline and must now be certified as eligible by the Election Board:

President: William Willie Kindle (incumbent), James Iron Shell, Dwight D. Spotted Tail, Richard Tuffy Lunderman, Steve DeNoyer, Jr., Reginald A. Little Thunder, Oliver J. Semans, Keith C. Horse Looking, Sr. and Wilma Bear Shield-Robertson.

Vice President: Glen Yellow Eagle, Scott Herman, Lenard Wright, Gabriel A. Medicine Eagle, Homer Whirlwind Soldier, William Willie Bear Shield, Paul Joseph, Russell Eagle Bear and Valerie Crazy Bull.

Secretary: Pamela Kills In Water, Gerri Night Pipe, Ann-erika White Bird, Gerald H. Eagle Bear, Maria Lambert and Julia M. Peneaux (incumbent).

Treasurer: Byron Barney Wright (incumbent), Muriel Fast Horse, Jamie Fast Horse, Lynette Bordeaux and Louis Wayne Boyd.

Antelope: Calvin Hawkeye Waln (incumbent), Santiago Morales, Eddie Sonny Farmer, Jr., Shawn Bordeaux, Josh Wilson, Brenda L. Farmer and Harley Sazue.

Ring Thunder: Patricia Douville, Rose Stenstrom (incumbent), Raine Eagle Cloud and Alvin Bear Heels, Sr.

Upper Cut Meat: Lester Kills The Enemy, Philimon D. Two Eagle and Pauline Big Crow Whirlwind. Incumbent Kathleen High Pipe did not file for re-election.

Rosebud: Shere Wright, Almona Kills In Water, Robert Oliver, William W. BeBe Long, III, Trent Poignee, George Gunhammer and Steve Leader Charge.

St. Francis: Joe Ford, Sharon Swift, Wanda Brave-McCauley, Michael R. Boltz (incumbent) and John Charles Arcoren.

Swift Bear: Delano Clairmont, James R. Leader Charge, Alvin Bettelyoun, Sr. (incumbent), Dera Iyotte and Robert A. Becker.

Horse Creek: Fremont Fallis, Robert Rattling Leaf and Christine Arrow. Incumbent Webster Two Hawk, Sr. did not file for re-election.

Bull Creek: Christopher Eagle Star and Charles L. White Pipe, Sr. Incumbent Todd Bear Shield did not file for re-election.

He Dog: Mary F. Waln (incumbent) and Royal Yellow Hawk.

Corn Creek: Arlene R. Old Lodge and Glen Quick Bear. Incumbent Brian Hart did not file for re-election.

Since Bull Creek, He Dog and Corn Creek all have only two candidates who filed for election, it is expected that the Election Board will certify the candidates and automatically advance them to the General Election.

Registered tribal voters have until Friday, June 5, 2015 at 12:00 Noon to file an affidavit challenging the eligibility of any candidate. Challenges must be accompanied by a filing fee of $50 which must be paid by money order or cashier’s check to the Tribal Treasurer’s Office.
Candidates must pass a criminal background check and meet other qualifications as outlined in the Election Code. Challenge affidavits can be picked up from the Tribal Secretary.

St. Francis Community is advertising a Political Candidate Forum for June 16, 2015 beginning at 6pm at the Community Hall. Also, the Rosebud Sioux Tribe’s Channel 93 will broadcast a public forum on Thursday, June 18, 2015 at 6pm. All interested community members can tune into channel 93 or YouTube to watch the live forum. Candidates are encouraged to attend these forums to let the public know their goals.

The Election Board members are Gerald Eagle Bear, Ronald Neiss, Ed Clairmont, Patti Romero and Meredith Kills In Water. For more information you can contact the Election Board Office at (605) 856-2373.

Published by Vi Waln


%d bloggers like this: