Rosebud gears up for summer elections

ROSEBUD, SD – Seventy (70) Rosebud Sioux Tribal members have filed affidavits seeking election to the governing body. Positions available include both the tribal president and vice-president jobs along with ten (10) tribal council representatives. All candidates must meet residency, blood quantum and age requirements before being placed on the ballot. Candidates must also pass a criminal background check.


Qualified voters have a right to challenge the eligibility of a candidate by filing a sworn written statement setting forth the grounds for ineligibility no later than Friday, June 8, 2012 at 1pm. A fee of $50 must be paid to the RST Treasurer’s office and the receipt should accompany any challenge documents.


All challenges will be reviewed by the RST Election Board. If the Board determines the candidate is not eligible for office, a hearing will be set and public notice given. The Board’s decision on the eligibility of a candidate is final. See RST Ordinance 86-10 which contains the Tribal Election Code.


Fourteen (14) tribal members filed affidavits for the top positions in tribal administration. They include Tribal President Candidates: Lenard “Shadow” Wright, Cyril Scott, Edward Edd Charging Elk, Reg “Reggie” Little Thunder, Rodney M. Bordeaux (incumbent), Kenneth Night Pipe, Valerie Crazy Bull, Lynda “Mona” Douville and Gabriel A. Medicine Eagle.


Also, Vice-president Candidates: William “Willie” Kindle (incumbent), Sherman D. Wright, Claudette C. Arcoren, Lois D. Antoine and Oliver J. Semans.


In addition, there were fifty-six (56) affidavits filed for ten (10) tribal council positions. The winning candidate will serve a three (3) year term. Tribal members who filed for the election are listed in the following paragraphs.


Antelope: Scott O. Herman (incumbent), Louis Moran III, Emil P. Wilson, Shannon M. Shaw-Brill, James R. Leader Charge, Glen Yellow Eagle, Shawn Bordeaux, Calvin “Hawkeye” Waln, Jr., Trent Poignee and Dolores R. Barron.


Ring Thunder: Patricia Douville (incumbent), Rose Stenstrom, Martha Blue Thunder, Raine K. Eagle Cloud and Alvin Bear Heels.


St. Francis: Bonnie J. Hairy Shirt, Dean Yellow Hawk, Anthony Bordeaux, Jr., Joe Ford, Michael Boltz, Sr., John Swift (incumbent), Darleen Black Spotted Horse, John C. Arcoren and Patsy Valandra.


Swift Bear: Delano Clairmont (incumbent), Robert Becker, Harold Medicine Bear and Alvin Bettelyoun, Sr.


Horse Creek: Fremont Fallis, Webster Two Hawk, Sr. (incumbent), Roger A. Moran, Christine M. Arrow and Craig Marshall.


He Dog: Royal Yellow Hawk (incumbent), Floyd Lafferty, Mary Waln, Salina Whipple and Janet Wilcox.


Rosebud: Floyd Reynolds, Troy Lynn Peneaux, Sarah Reynolds, Leana M. Long, Richard Lunderman, Kenneth LaDeaux, Ronald D. “Jock” Gassman, Steve Leader Charge, David C. Reddest, Stephanie C. Sully and Neal T. Kramer.


Upper Cut Meat: Fred Whirlwind, Philimon D. Two Eagle, Kathleen High Pipe (incumbent), and Calvin Two Eagle.


Corn Creek: Arlene (Old Lodge) Black Bear and Brian Hart.


Bull Creek: Todd Bear Shield.


A reservation wide primary election is scheduled for Thursday, July 26, 2012. The top two vote getters will advance to the General Election on Thursday, August 23, 2012. Qualified tribal members who have registered to vote will have the opportunity to cast their vote to select a president, vice president and all ten (10) tribal council representatives.


For more information please call the Election Board at (605) 856-2373. Their office is located on Main Street in Mission, just south of the City office in the building which formerly housed the Mission Medical Clinic.

Published by Vi Waln


%d bloggers like this: